This is a New York State Hospital for the insane, incorporated in 1870 and opened in 1874. Since then over 11,000 patients have been admitted.
It is the finest Homœopathic Insane Institution in the world, and one of which the school may be justly proud, because since its establishment the treatment employed has ever been of the strictest homœopathicity and the results have been little short of marvelous.
There are 47 separate buildings, 12 of which are for the accommodation of patients, while the remainder supply every want that this village of 2,200 patients and 450 employees may need. The total acreage of the grounds is 543. A large farm is connected with the hospital, which is worked largely by the inmates.
It has a consulting staff of seven members and a large Training School for both sexes. There are 43 nurses in training, and further 42 nurses and 212 ward attendants employed.
The system of record keeping in this institution is as near perfect as is possible to attain perfection. It is the proud boast of this hospital that no narcotic or sleep-producing drugs have ever been found in its pharmacy.