Showing posts with label Mill. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Mill. Show all posts

December 9, 2018

The Children's Factory Outlet

Cinderella Lives In Pennsylvania March 28, 1988, by ROBERT H. ORENSTEIN

The Morning Call. Once upon a time, a factory in Pa made girls clothing under the Cinderella label. But this fairy tale nearly had a sad ending. Since the mid-1970s, the Cinderella had financial problems and eventually went bankrupt. In 1984, a Salt Lake City company bought the Cinderella label in bankruptcy court, but it pulled out of Pa in November 1986. Except for special efforts by the employees, the Pa factory would have closed. A half-dozen of them formed Kiddie Kloes Inc. and scraped up enough money for a down-payment to buy the machinery. The other 90 or so employees gave up their benefits and severed ties with the union to make it economically feasible for their new bosses to operate. Kiddie Kloes, whose name comes from the way the early-20th century Panther Valley immigrants spelled "clothes," couldn't afford to buy the building from the bank that held the mortgage. A group led by Bucks County businessman George M. Collie, which earlier purchased the rights to produce the Cinderella label, soon will buy the building. The final piece of the puzzle that cleared the way for Collie's group to buy the building fell into place last week. That's when the Carbon County commissioners accepted Collie's offer to pay half of the unpaid real estate taxes due on the building. Earlier, the Panther Valley School Board and Borough Council approved the plan. It's a scenario without any losers. The county, borough and school district will get half of the nearly $24,000 in delinquent real estate taxes, which is a cheap way to save the jobs and ensure that taxes be paid in the future. And the employees, many of whom have spent their entire adult lives working at the plant, will keep their jobs. Rita Chickilly, a 26-year veteran of the plant, summed up the employees' feelings. "We gave up lots. But we needed to. There's nothing else here."






























April 12, 2013

The Foundry

The Foundry LTD.

The Foundry
Located in Upstate NY is a Private Company. Some records show is was Established in Nineteen Forty Eight. The Foundry is still used to this day. I was granted permission to photograph this industrial location by the owners. As far as history goes this is all I have. I am waiting for the owner/owners to email me back with more of the history on this location. 

















October 1, 2012

Wilde Yarn Mill


John Wilde and Brother, Inc., remains as a family owned woolen carpet yarn mill in continuous operation at this location since 1884, giving it the distinction of the oldest American carpet yarn company still in existence. The complex of three buildings stands at the lower end of Manayunk, once a part of an industrial landscape that included the Pencoyd Iron Works, later the American Bridge Company, and the Wissahickon Plush Mill. Surviving as the last of these, the Wilde mill now serves as the gateway to Manayunk from the south, as proclaimed in the sign painted on the Main Street mill. 

In 1882 brothers John and Thomas Wilde started the construction of a mill on Cresson Street near the intersection of Ridge Avenue.  This effort came two years after they had purchased two sets of cards and a mule, and had begun a carpet yarn business, spinning wool on the fifth floor of S.S. Keely's Enterprise Mill.  The Wilde's new mill, oriented toward Cresson Street, bares a significant resemblance to the pattern of mill construction prevalent throughout Manayunk toward the end of the nineteenth century. With its rubble stone walls and red brick trim, the mill follows the type built by S.S. Keely. Having been tenants of Keely,it appears likely that he would have constructed their mill. When completed two years later, the date 1884 was laid into the brickwork of its smoke stack where it is still clearly visible from Ridge Avenue. 

The process of spinning carpet yarn from wool stock has not changed much over the years, with the exception of the introduction of labor saving devices and the evolution of improvements to those machines. At John Wilde and Brother the acquisition of such machines led, in part, to the expansion of the mill. In 1932 the reinforced concrete and brick mill on Main Street was constructed down the rocky hillside from the earlier mill. Its structural system required fewer interior piers which resulted in more open space to accommodate larger, more modern machinery. Presently this mill houses the carding, twisting, spinning, and winding machinery. The carpet yarn process at the Wilde mill currently takes place in three buildings, the last one added in 1983; designed by Reshetar Architect, Inc., the reinforced concrete structure embellished with terra cotta tile, stands atop a rubble rock foundation (of the earlier Wissahickon Plush Mill) next to the first mill and serves as a warehouse. 

Bales of scoured wool from a variety of world markets arrive at the Wilde mill and are delivered to the warehouse, maintaining the inventory necessary to anticipate and fill its orders. From there the bales are fork-lifted into the top floor of the 1884 mill for blending. As much of the finish product of the mill consists of natural colored yarns, an assortment of wools makes up the inventory. The technique of blending the various colors achieves the distinction in the yarns. On this same floor six large Lumming feeding machines combine different types of wool to make a homogeneous blend layers, or the blended wool. Next the wool travels to a baling machine. Forced air blows it down to the floor below where it is compressed, strapped and stored as bales. To insure a good blend, the wool is put through this process three times. On one of the passes, a lubricant is added to aid in the processing and a pre-carder opens the fibers in preparation for carding. 

The spinning of a customer's order begins when the bales leave the old mill and slide on an enclosed incline down the hillside between the two mill buildings, landing near the carding machines. Situated on the top floor of the new mill, six large Davies and Ferber carding machines use toothed rollers to comb the fibers of the wool straight. With accurate measuring devices these machines weigh the raw wool before carding to establish the size of the finished yarn.  The product of carding, called roving, looks like finished yarn but has no twist and no strength. Wound on large spools, the roving leaves this floor for the one below where it is placed on continuous ring spinning machines to add the twist. The machines stretch and twist the roving as it is wound onto smaller bobbins. Twisting machines fitted with several bobbins of different yarns twist them together to achieve the desired number of ply. The Wilde Mill has a Saco-Lowell overhead creel-twisting machine on the second floor of the newer mill and Whitin twisting machines on the ground floor of the same mill. The final process before shipping, involves moving the finished yarns on a winding machine from the mill’s wooden bobbins onto paper cones or tubes for shipping and use by the customer. 

Two other machines, which survive from earlier days of textile production are still in use here. A picker, used for picking spun yarn, returns it to the appearance of the raw wool. This mill uses the picker for its small pieces of yarn called hard waste. The other machine, a willow or duster, removes short unusable fibers from waste known as fly, also returning it to pre-combed wool.  Both the willow and the pickers were manufactured by W.M. Schofield of Manayunk and patented in 1929. 

John Wilde and Brother, Inc. and Robert Krook, Inc., 4120 Main Street, survive in Manayunk among the stiff competition of corporate giants, paralleling the recent history of industry in America. Within the last twenty years in Manayunk, six yarn mills have closed, the last, Blankin Yarn Company, as recently as two years ago.
History Found Here.


Wilde Yarn II